Appeal for new council members

FILEY Town Council is on the look out for four new councillors to serve in the town.

The moves comes after five councillors with a combined 76 years in office stepped down.

The councillors moving on include Cllr David Murton, who served for 42 years and was the last member to have served on the Filey Urban District Council, Cllr Chris Hodgson and Cllr Julie Viles.

Cllr Sam Cross, who is also a borough councillor, and Cllr Aileen Newbury have also left their roles, though Cllr Cross will continue on the borough council.

Gina Robinson, Town Clerk, said the role of councillor carried great importance.

She said: “Parish and Town Councils depend on local people taking an interest in what happens in their local community.

“Whatever their background, local people standing as councillors can bring a wealth of knowledge and community understanding into the local team.”

Applications must be sent in writing to Gina Robinson, Filey Town Council, Council Offices, 52A Queen Street, Filey YO14 9HE. The closing date is Tuesday, May 17.

For more information contact (01723) 514498.