Babu’s magnificent seven fires Muston to victory

Ryan Woodhead hit 62 for Cayton B
Ryan Woodhead hit 62 for Cayton B

Muston bowler Babu Matthew took a magnificent seven wickets for just four runs as his side hammered Cloughton B by nine wickets in division C of the Andy Hire Scarborough Evening League.

The hosts were skittled for just 23 runs thanks to Matthew’s deadly spell, which has put him top of the season’s best bowling performances with figures which will be hard to top.

Seamer B remain top of the division thanks to a 65-run home success against Snainton.

Dave Graham hit 27 and the in-form Craig Baker 29 as Seamer posted 146-8, and Dan Jewitt’s 3-21 saw Snainton stumble to 81 all out, despite a battling 30 from Danny I’Anson.

Cayton B hung on for a tense three-run win at home to Wykeham B to maintain their promotion push.

Ryan Woodhead’s powerful 62, aided by 25 from Tom Poor helped the hosts to 140-8.

In reply Scott Wardman, 49, and John Hoggarth, 74no, tried their best to seal victory for Wykeham, but Cayton managed to restrict them to 137-1.

Wykeham C had better fortune than their clubmates, securing a five-wicket home triumph against Forge Valley B.

The prolific John Flinton top-scored with 38 for Valley and Gary Gibson added 28 in their 105-3.

The hosts earned victory thanks to 51 from Adam Brown and an unbeaten 33 from Josh Hill.

Ravenscar won by 12 runs at home to Valley Bar Nomads, Tom Noble smacking an important 45 for the victors in their 96-3.

Jordan Wakeham’s 50 gave Nomads hope but they ended up short with 84-4.

Staxton remain top of division A after a comfortable seven-wicket victory at Flixton.

Richard Webster was the pick of the Staxton bowlers with 4-28 as Flixton reached 134-5 thanks to knocks from Ryan Wharton, 38, Geoff Hill, 27, Harry Walmsley, 26, and Liam Lowery, 25.

Paul Witty’s unbeaten 51 saw Staxton home, after 30 apiece from Rob Pinder and Chris Dove.

Scalby’s fine start to life in the top flight continued with a 11-run home win against Heslerton.

Joe Hills, 62no, and Pete Beard, 26, steered the hosts to 135-5, and 3-16 from Paul Hesp limited Heslerton to 124-6 despite a fine 48 from Stuart Pickard.

Ebberston bagged a nine-run win at basement club Wykeham, despite a plucky effort from the hosts.

Jon Mason hit 29 and Eddie Craggs 26 as the visitors wwere dismissed for 121, former Snainton bowler James Wilson taking 4-19 for Wykeham.

Steve Day smacked 36 to give the home side hope, but Reece Milner took 4-22 and Frankie Beal 3-21 to restrict them to 12-9.

Seamer strolled to an eight-wicket win at Sherburn, Gregg Chadwick’s unbeaten 62 the driving force behind their win.

Gary Lawton grabbed 3-15 as Sherburn earlier posted 91-7, Dan Simpson making 30.

Cayton A are still leading the way in division B after a four-run win at rivals Ganton.

Darren Foreman hit 35 and Tom Sixsmith 29no as the visitors reached 114-6, and despite Rob Middlewood’s 32 the hosts fell agonisingly short on 100-6.

Scarborough opened their account for the season with a 10-wicket win at lowly Ebberston B.

Joe Padmore’s 3-14 helped restrict the hosts to 76-8, only veteran Adrian Turnbull, 36, impressing for Ebberston.

Openers Jonathan Read, 56no, and Josh Mainprize, 22no eased the North Marine Road club to a much-needed win.

There was a much closer finish at Clarence Drive where visitors Cloughton scraped to an eight-run win at Filey.

Paul Virr’s 30 helped Cloughton to 98-8, Ben Briggs and Jordan Powell snapping up three wickets each for the hosts.

Gary Jordan and Glynn Botterill secured three wickets apiece as Cloughton dismissed Filey for 90.

Brad Walker led by example in Scalby B’s six-wicket success at Forge Valley, despite a fine all-round display from Sean Pinder for the Ayton side.

Pinder’s undefeated 37 guided Valley to 125-7, Joe Bradshaw adding a fine 34, Daryll Morley snapping up 4-29.

All-round star Pinder then took 3-20 to keep Valley in the game but a fine unbeaten 36 from skipper Walker and 35 by Ryan Labuschagne secured the win for the Carr Lane club.


DIVISION A (*Denotes home team)

Staxton A 135-3 (Paul Witty 51no, Rob Pinder 30, Chris Dove 30) beat *Flixton A 134-5 (Harry Walmsley 26, Geoff Hill 27, Ryan Wharton 38, Liam Lowery 25, Richard Webster 4-28) by 7 wkts.

*Scalby A 135-5 (Joe Hills 62no, Pete Beard 26) beat Heslerton 124-6 (Stuart Pickard 48, Paul Hesp 3-16) by 11 runs.

Seamer A 92-2 (Gregg Chadwick 61no) beat *Sherburn 91-7 (Dan Simpson 30, Gary Lawton 3-15) by 8 wkts.

Ebberston A 121 all out (Jon Mason 29, Eddie Craggs 26, James Wilson 4-19) beat *Wykeham A 112-9 (Steve Day 36, Reece Milner 4-22, Frankie Beal 3-21) by nine runs.


Cloughton A 98-8 (Paul Virr 30, Ben Briggs 3-25, Jordan Powell 3-22) beat *Filey 90 all out (Gary Jordan 3-25, Glynn Botterill 3-14) by eight runs.

Scarborough 80-0 (Jonathan Read 56no, Josh Mainprize 22no) beat *Ebberston B 76-8 (Adrian Turnbull 36, Joe Padmore 3-14) by 10 wkts.

Scalby B 126-4 (Ryan Labuschagne 35, Brad Walker 36no, Sean Pinder 3-20) beat *Forge Valley A 125-7 (Sean Pinder 37no, Joe Bradshaw 34, Daryll Morley 4-29) by 6 wkts.

Cayton A 114-6 (Darren Foreman 35, Tom Sixsmith 29no) beat *Ganton 100-6 (Rob Middlewood 32) by four runs.


*Cayton B 140-8 (Tom Poor 25, Ryan Woodhead 62) beat Wykeham B 137-1 (John Hoggarth 74no, Scott Wardman 49) by three runs.

Muston 27-1 beat *Cloughton B 23 all out (Babu Matthew 7-4) by 9 wkts.

*Ravenscar 96-3 (Tom Noble 45) beat Valley Bar Nomads 84-4 (Jordan Wakeham 50) by 12 runs.

*Seamer B 146-8 (Dave Graham 27, Craig Baker 29) beat Snainton 81 all out (Danny I’Anson 30, Dan Jewitt 3-21) by 65 runs.

*Wykeham C 109-5 (Adam Brown 51, Josh Hill 33no) beat Forge Valley B 105-3 (Gary Gibson 28, John Flinton 38) by 5 wkts.

No game tonight - Staxton B

Best batting and bowling performances for Thursday May 28


1 John Hoggarth 74no (Wykeham B v Cayton B)

2 Joe Hills 62no (Scalby v Heslerton)

3 Ryan Woodhead 62 (Cayton B v Wykeham B)

4 Gregg Chadwick 61no (Seamer v Sherburn)

5 Jonathan Read 56no (Scarborough v Ebberston B)


1 Babu Matthew 7-4 (Muston v Cloughton B)

2 James Wilson 4-19 (Wykeham v Ebberston)

3 Reece Milner 4-22 (Ebberston v Wykeham)

4 Rich Webster 4-28 (Staxton v Flixton)

5 Daryll Morley 4-29 (Scalby B v Forge Valley)

Overall season’s best performances


1 David Holborn 100no (Scalby v Ebberston)

2 Ryan Baldry 94no (Filey v Forge Valley)

3 John Hoggarth 74no (Wykeham B v Cayton B)


1 Babu Matthew 7-4 (Muston v Cloughton B)

2 Paul Hesp 5-5 (Scalby v Ebberston)

3 Shakil Iqbal 5-13 (Cayton B v Valley Bar Nomads)

4 Robin Coulson 5-13 (Ravenscar v Valley Bar Nomads)