BECKETT LEAGUE: Kirkby crush Flixton

editorial image

Flixton 2nds were dismissed for 17, the lowest score in Readers Scarborough Beckett League premier division history, as they sunk to a 78-run loss at Kirkbymoorside.

The visitors must have fancied their chances after dismissingf the Moorsiders for just 95, Eddie Cass smacking a crucial 42 for the hosts.

Alan Parvin, 4-18, was the leading Flixton bowler.

South African all-rounder Jacques Budricks, 5-2, and Daniel Jeminson, 4-11, then linked up to skittle Flixton for just 17, eclipsing Kirkbymoorsides’s 23 all out against Forge Valley in 2007.

Heslerton made a remarkable recovery from 21-7 to secure a two-wicket win at Staithes.

The home side were all out for 140, Rich Hegarty top-scoring with 49 and Rich Ward adding 28.

Paceman Andy Slaughter and in-form Tom Benthall claimed four wickets apiece for the visitors.

Simon Bowes, 6-59, did the early damage as Heslerton looked doomed to defeat but fine batting from Kristian Wilkinson, 85no, and Slaughter, 34, made sure of the win for Heslerton.

Leaders Staxton succumbed to a 66-run defeat at struggling Forge Valley.

Andy Holtby and Elliott Cooper grabbed three wickets apiece as Valley posted 170-7, Scott Woodhead, 38, and David Morris, 27, making important runs for Valley.

Chris Dove, 29, and Paul Witty, 27, were the only Staxton batsmen to shine as Valley bowlers Morris, 3-15, and Jaymaine White, 3-17, teamed up to dismiss the visitors for 104.

Ebberston won by five runs at Filey in a thrilling match.

Eddie Craggs hammered 74 and Neil Eddon 64 as the visitors were dismissed for 190, Paul Kempson taking 5-35.

Aaron Howard’s 76, along with 35 not out from Kempson, looked to be putting the home side on track for victory but Reece Milner, 3-65, helped to peg them back to 185-8.

Paul Woodhead was the star man with 5-22 and 66 not out as Cayton won by six wickets at home to Seamer.

Grindale tightened their grip on the leadership of division A with a 75-run win at Cloughton.

Josh Dawson, 41, Chris Briggs, 34, and Ian Cousins, 28, all chipped in as the pacesetters were dismissed for 157, Jake Dudding grabbing a magnificent 7-55.

Chris Malthouse, 30, was the only home batsman to make any impact, Dawson snapping up 4-36 and Liam Cousins 4-5 as Cloughton slumped to 82 all out.

Scalby eased to a seven-wicket home win against Sewerby 2nds.

Paul Hesp snapped up 5-23 and Marcus Eaton 4-52 as the visitors were dismissed for 128, Dom Warters hitting 37 for the clifftop club.

Rising star Bradley Walker’s unbeaten 39 wrapped up the win, with fine knocks from Adam Waugh, 32, stalwart Lee Kerr, 25, and Joe Hills, 24, setting the hosts on their way to victory.

Wykeham boosted their promotion ambitions with a two-wicket win at Brompton, Mathew Vincent the all-round star for the visitors.

Spinner Vincent scooped 6-23 and seamer Gareth Bernard 4-33 as Brompton were all out for 115, James Bruce top-scoring with 32, Rob Lockey weighing in with 25.

Tom Pateman, 3-24, Mark Bruce, 2-9, and Lockey, 2-24, looked to have put the home side in the driving seat, but an unbeaten ninth-wicket stand between Vincent, 31no, and Ezra Pashby, 33no, saw Wykeham edge home by two wickets.

Sherburn eased their relegation worries with a 25-run win a low-scoring contest at Nawton Grange, Phil Pickard’s superb seven-wicket haul handing victory to the away team.

Mike Holtby also took 3-26 as Grange slumped to 55 all out in reply to Sherburn’s 80 all out.

Oliver West’s 7-18 helped Wold Newton earn a 24-run win at home to Settrington.

Eddie Rounthwaite bagged 4-30 and Andy Monkman 5-24 as Newton crashed to 84 all out, but then West skittled Settrington for 60.

Forge Valley 2nds won by just two runs at Thornton Dale in division B.

Valley sank to 75 all out, Sean Pinder top-scoring with 28 as Dale secured 3-26. Dale then fell short on 73 all out as Neil Arnott took 3-11.

Leaders Mulgrave won by 32 runs at title rivals Cayton 2nds.

Simon Glave took 5-18 as Mulgrave were dismissed for 146, Chris Clarkson top-scoring with 31.

In reply Ian Dennis struck 31 to give Cayton hope, but fine bowling from Carl Thompson, 4-28, saw the hosts slip to 114 all out.

Staxton 2nds moved up to second spot with a 128-run win at home to Scarborough 3rds.

Mark Dove, 36, Craig Hill, 32, and Matthew Pearson, 27, helped the home side to 211-8, Mike Southwell bagging 3-22 for the visitors.

Kingsley Gray’s 7-16 then saw Scarborough skittled for 83 runs.

Bridlington 2nds won by three wickets at home to Ganton, despite a plucky 44 from the visitors Stewart Ward.

Fylingdale 2ndsmtriumped by 32 runs at Ryedale thanks to a six-wicket haul from Steve Husband.

Scalby 2nds skipper Paul Marton smashed a cracking 89 as the leaders of division C won by 48 runs at Ebberston 2nds.

Joe Dunnett took 4-37 as Scalby were dismissed for 171, but keen bowling from J Scott, 4-31, and Tony Geall, 4-29, skittled the hosts for 123.

Mark Dring’s 7-20 helped Heslerton 2nds keep up with Scalby 2nds with the 58-run win at Wykeham 2nds.

Tony Watson smashed 49 and Matty Webster 22 as the visitors slipped to 114 all out, James Wilson scooping 6-35.

Wykeham then crashed to 56 all out as they had little answer to Dring’s pace bowling.

Ravenscar stayed in third spot after their67-run home win against Seamer 2nds.

Will Warwick took 3-9 and Dinesh Swaminathan 4-26 as Seamer slumped to 68 all out in reply to the home side’s 135-9.

Joe Bayes fell one run short of his half-century, while Warwick scored 26 for the home side.



Ebberston 190 (N Eddon 64, E Craggs 74, P Kempson 5-35) beat Filey 185-8 (A Howard 76, P Kempson 35no, R Milner 3-65) by five runs. 18-9.

Forge Valley 170-7 (D Morris 27, S Woodhead 36, A Holtby 3-44, E Cooper 3-32) beat Staxton 104 (C Dove 29, P Witty 27, D Morris 3-15, J White 3-17) by 66 runs. 18-4.

Heslerton 143-8 (K Wilkinson 85no, A Slaughter 34, S.Bowes 6-59) beat Staithes 140 (R Hegarty 49, R Ward 28, A Slaughter 4-51, T Benthall 4-29) by two wickets. 17-6.

Kirkbymoorside 95 (E Cass 42, A Parvin 4-18, M Durry 3-29) beat Flixton 2nds 17 (J Budricks 5-2, D Jeminson 4-11) by 78 runs. 15-5.

Cayton 139-4 (P Woodhead 66no) beat Seamer 138 (G Chadwick 46, P Woodhead 5-22) by six wickets. 17-4.


Wykeham 116-8 (E Pashby 33no, M Vincent 31no, T Pateman 3-24, M Bruce 2-9, R Lockey 2-24) beat Brompton 115 (J Bruce 32, R Lockey 25, M Bruce 19, J Allison 19, M Vincent 6-23, G Barnard 4-33) by 2 wickets. 16-5.

Grindale 157 (C Briggs 34, I Cousins 29, J Dawson 41, J Dudding 7 for 55) beat Cloughton 82 (C Malthouse 30, L Cousins 4- 5, J Dawson 4-36) by 75 runs. 18-5.

Sherburn 80 (P Wilson 3-16) beat Nawton Grange 55 (P Pickard7-27, M Holtby 3-26) by 25 runs. 15-5.

Scalby 129-3 (L Kerr 25, J Hills 24, B Walker 39no, A Waugh 32) beat Sewerby 2nds 128 (D Warters 37, P Hesp 5-23, M Eaton 4-52) by 7 wickets. 17-3.

Wold Newton 84 (E Rounthwaite 4-30, A Monkman 5-24) beat Settrington 60 (O West 7-18) by 24 runs. 15-5.


Bridlington 2nds 142-7 (E Traves 31, G Cousins 3-34) beat Ganton 141 -9 (S Ward 44) by 3 wickets. 16-5.

Mulgrave 146 (J Newton 26, C Clarkson 31, S Glave 5-18) beat Cayton 2nds 114 (I Dennis 31, C Thompson 4-28) by 32 runs. 17-6.

Fylingdales 137 - 7 (D Steele 31, L Balderson 3-34) beat Ryedale 105 - 8 (C Hugill 25, S.Husband 6-24) by 32 runs. 16-4.

Staxton 2nds 211 - 8 (C Hill 32, M Pearson 27, M Dove 36, M Southwell 3-22)beat Scarborough 3rds 83 (D Foster 27, K Gray 7-16) by 128 runs. 20-4

Forge Valley 2nds 75 (S Pinder 28, C Headlam 3-26) beat Thornton Dale 73 (N Arnott 3-11) by two runs. 15-5.


Scalby 2nds 171 (P Marton 89, J Dunnett 4-37) beat Ebberston 2nds 123 (S Pickering 25, T Geall 4-29, J Scott 4-31) by 48 runs. 18-6.

Ravenscar 135-9 (J Bayes 49, W Warwick 26, R Lazenby 3-17) beat Seamer 2nds 68 (D Swaminathan 4-26, W Warwick 3-19) by 67 runs. 17-4.

Heslerton 2nds 114 (A Watson 49, M Webster 22, J Wilson 6-35) beat Wykeham 2nds 56 (M Dring 7-20) by 58 runs. 16-5.