Big-hitting Burrell batters Scalby

HANDY ANDY ... Filey's Andy Burrell hit 139no against Scalby
HANDY ANDY ... Filey's Andy Burrell hit 139no against Scalby

BIG-HITTING Filey A batsman Andy Burrell smashed a superb unbeaten 139 as his team crushed Scalby A by 92 runs at Clarence Drive in their division A clash on Tuesday evening.

Burrell smacked a stunning 10 sixes and 14 fours on his way to his century, steering the hosts to a massive 215-5.

Phil Dickens also chipped in with 42, while Adam Waugh, 4-21, was the pick of a Scalby team that spent most of their time retrieving the ball from all parts of Clarence Drive.

Dan Gregory’s 34 and Tony Geall’s 30 were the only highlights for the visitors as they were skittled for 123, Paul Kempson bagging three wickets for six runs.

Staxton B claimed a nine-wicket win against Seamer B in division B despite only having eight players.

Dave Plowes’ unbeaten 43 guided Seamer to 139-5, Adrian Young taking 3-20 with his spin bowling.

Dave Aldcroft, 52, Liam Scott, 57no, and Ryan Hargreaves, 28no, then led eight-man Staxton to victory.

Cricket results for Tuesday May 24

Andy Hire League Division A

Staxton A 84-4 (B Luntley 47no, J Armstrong 26no, A Noble 4-10) beat Cayton A 82 all out (R Woodhead 25, C Dove 3-24, L Gray 4-15) by 6 wickets.

Cloughton A 137-4 (J Dudding 34, R Nock 47) beat Seamer A 67-7 (D Lewis 28, J Dudding 4-6) by 80 runs.

Flixton A 150-8 (O Stephenson 93, B Elvidge 43, C Tindall 4-24) beat Ebberston A 83 all out by 67 runs.

Filey A 215-5 (A Burrell 139no, P Dickens 42, A Waugh 4-21) beat Scalby A 123 all out (D Gregory 34, P Kempson 3-6) by 92 runs

Division B

Hospitals 107-7 (M Tennant 44no) beat Forge Valley A 105-8 (J Flinton 26, S Norris 5-23) by 2 runs.

Wykeham A 177-5 (W Gibson 94) beat Brompton 114 all out (T Pateman 50, D Pearson 3-14) by 63 runs.

Staxton B 143-1 (D Aldcroft 52, L Scott 57no, R Hargreaves 28no) beat Seamer B 139-5 (D Plowes 43no, S Wood 32, A Young 3-20) by 9 wickets.

Sherburn 155-9 (P Pickard 25, J Thompson 28, Z Briggs 3-34) beat Hunmanby A 115-9 (M Pearson 30, A Bosomworth 28, P Pickard 3-32) by 40 runs.

Division C

Flixton B 130-3 (G Hill 47no, L Lowery 31) beat Snainton 129-9 (J Oakley 52, D Brannan 4-7) by 7 wickets.

Ganton A 114-4 (A Limb 60no) beat Ebberston B 113-7 (E Harrison 28) by 6 wickets.

Forge Valley B 76-3 (S Pinder 23) beat Cloughton B 72 all out (C Hunter 4-14) by 7 wickets.

Wykeham B 128-0) (J Wanless 59no, S Staveley 62no) beat Oriel A 126-7 (M Oxtoby 52) by 10 wickets.

Division D

Oriel B 97-3 (M Dove 36no) beat Cayton B 95 all out (S Williams 25, A Dunn 3-11) by 7 wickets.

Ravenscar 104-0 (J Bayes 39no, D Swamiwathan 56no) beat Ganton B 103-3 (P Elliot 28, S Ridley 27no) by 10 wickets.

Scalby B 193-3 (J Dudley 37, D Bradley 32, D Barber 44no, S Shannon 28no) beat Hunmanby B 42 all out (D Morley 4-6) by 141 runs.

Filey B 168-5 (L Adams 51, A Harvard 38) beat Scalby C 115-7 by 53 runs.