Evening League rivals Flixton & Staxton set for top-flight title battle

Evening League news
Evening League news

The battle for the Evening League division A is looking set to go down to the wire this season.

Staxton A and Flixton A share top spot in division A at the halfway stage, and have yet to lose a game and this form continued on Tuesday night when Staxton hammered struggling Wykeham A by nine wickets and Flixton eased to a win at Seamer A by a seven-wicket margin.

The driving force behind Staxton’s win was Rob Pinder’s undefeated 87 which helped them to pass Wykeham’s 142-3 for the loss of just one wicket, Chris Dove chipping in with an unbeaten 25.

Mark Bruce had earlier also struck 87 not out, for the visitors.

Scott Cooper’s 3-9 limited Seamer to 82-6 in their home game with Flixton.

Greg Chadwick struck a defiant 42 in the hosts’ 82-6, which Flixton eased past to stay in joint top spot.

The top score of the night in the league was Matty Turnbull’s 102 not out in Ebberston A’s 22-run success at Cayton A.

Ben Lockey also added an undefeated 28 in the visitors’ 157-2.

Ryan Woodhead (63) kept Cayton in the hunt for victory, but after his dismissal the home side fell short with 135-9.

Filey A remain rooted to the foot of the table after their seven-wicket loss at Cloughton A.

Ben Briggs hit 56 and Kieren Geyle 58 as the visitors batted first and reached 144-3.

Rob Barker (58), jack Hakings (38) and Paul Virr (28no) then teamed up to help Cloughton to victory.

The top bowling display of the night came from Cloughton B’s Paul Goodenough, who took four wickets for seven runs as his team hammered hosts Wykeham C by 98 runs in division D.

Andy Clyde’s 59 was the top score in the visitors’ 178-6.

Goodenough then ripped through the Wykeham order, as, despite a plucky 45 from Nick Ells, the home side were skittled for 80 runs.

Forge Valley A and Sherburn are also locked together at the top of division B after wins against Staxton B and Flixton B respectively.

Darren Arnott (4-20) and Nasar Khan (3-16) helped Valley skittle Staxton for 47 and the Ayton side knocked off the runs for the loss of just one wicket.

Craig Sanderson’s unbeaten 49 guided Sherburn to their win by the same margin at Flixton.

Oriel A swept to a seven-wicket win at Ebberston B to stay in top spot in division C.

Johnny Mason was unlucky to be on the losing side, having hit 90 as the hosts posted 136-7.

Andy Robertshaw (40), Scott Wardman (38) and Jamie Haxby (24no) then stepped up to take Oriel to victory.

Best batting and bowling performances for week ending June 15


1 Matty Turnbull 102no (Ebberston A v Cayton A)

2 Johnny Mason 90 (Ebberston B v Oriel A)

3 Mark Bruce 87no (Wykeham A v Staxton A)

4 Rob Pinder 87no (Staxton A v Wykeham A)

5 Paul Pennock 66no (Cayton B v Snainton)

6 Ryan Woodhead 63 (Cayton A v Ebberston A)


1 Paul Goodenough 4-7 (Cloughton B v Wykeham C)

2 Josh O’Sullivan 4-11 (Muston v Oriel B)

3 Darren Arnott 4-20 (Forge Valley A v Staxton B)

4 Jamie Gregory 4-22 (Filey B v Ravenscar)

5 James Deaves 4-23 (Scalby B v Wykeham B)

6 Darren Palmer 4-33 (Oriel B v Muston)

Overall batting & bowling performances


1 Paul Pennock 158no (Cayton B v Snainton)

2 Paul Pennock 153no (Cayton B v Wykeham C)

3 Keith Eddon 113no (Ebberston B v Filey B)

4 Andy Dove 110no (Staxton B v Scalby A)

5 Aaron Howard 107no (Filey B v Seamer B)

6 Stu Stocks 104no (Flixton A v Filey A)


1 Tom Benthall 5-10 (Heslerton v Brompton)

1 Nasar Khan 5-10 (Forge Valley A v Ganton)

3 Darrell Morley 5-11 (Scalby B v Seamer B)

4 Matty Kay 5-13 (Scarborough v Wykeham B)

5 Liam Glaves 5-14 (Forge Valley A v Cayton).