Ganton and Seamer B clinch Evening titles

editorial image

Ganton and Seamer B secured the Division B and Division C titles respectively on the final night of the AndyHire Evening Cricket League season.

Ganton won a high-scoring encounter at Wilson’s Lane against relegated Forge Valley by 20 runs to finish as Division B champions ahead of Filey.

Liam Cousins hit 38 and Richard Bannister 34 as Ganton posted 162-5, Ed Cooper weighing in with an unbeaten 26 and Sean Pinder snapping up a superb 5-30.

James Allison’s impressive 53, allied to 34 from Tom Varey and 25 from Pinder gave Valley a fighting chance, but John Bannister’s 3-26 pegged the Ayton side back to 142-7.

The title decider in Division C saw Seamer B defeat rivals Wykeham B by six wickets.

Connor Myerscough claimed 3-20 as Wykeham posted 102-7, Harry Gunning’s 58 giving the visitors a fighting chance of victory.

Gary Dixon’s 41 ensured a home win for Seamer B and sparked the title celebrations, both sides having gained promotion to division B.

Ebberston B’s relegation from division B was also confirmed despite their 70-run win at third-placed Cloughton.

Eddie Craggs smashed 69 as the away team made their way to 149-3, Mike Horsley adding 39.

Craggs capped a fine all-round day with 3-29 and Pete Webster scooped 4-10 as Cloughton limped to 79-9, but the win was not enough to save Ebberston as rivals Scarborough and Cayton both claimed wins.

Openers Josh Mainprize and Jon Read put on 160 as the North Marine Road club threw the formbook out of the window to hammer promoted Filey by 52 runs.

Read was unbeaten on 78 and Mainprize 70 not out, and Filey were skittled for 108 in reply.

Tom Ward took an excellent 5-16 as Cayton eased to a six-wicket win at home to Scalby B.

The visitors were all out for 69, and despite 4-11 in reply by David Smith, Paul Pennock’s 25 helped Cayton to a crucial victory.

Ebberston hit four off the final ball of their Division A game at home to Heslerton to win by four wickets.

Heslerton made their way to 134-7 thanks to 39 from Kristian Wilkinson and 27 by Graham Hall.

Ben Lealman, 31, and Reece Milner, 28, helped Ebberston to victory but it was their lower-order batsmen who secured the points in dramatic style.

Champions Staxton completed an unbeaten season with a 41-run win at Wykeham.

Rob Pinder, 57, Paul Witty, 33, and Dan Bulman, 27no, saw Staxton to 166-6.

James Bryant, 58, and Ian Thompson, 30, steered Wykeham to 125-6 in reply.

Phil Pickard took 5-18 and hit 55 for Sherburn but failed to save them from a 12-run loss at Scalby.


DIVISION A (*Denotes Home Team)

*Ebberston A 135-6 (Ben Lealman 31, Reece Milner 28) beat Heslerton 134-7 (Kristian Wilkinson 39, Graham Hall 27) by 4 wkts.

Seamer A 127-5 (Gregg Chadwick 40, Darrol Lewis 25, Adam Robertshaw 34) beat *Flixton 125-7 (Chris Mann 26, Harry Walmsley 51no) by 5 wkts.

*Scalby A 105-7 (Phil Pickard 5-18) beat Sherburn 93 all out (Phil Pickard 55) by 12 runs.

Staxton A 166-6 (Paul Witty 33, Rob Pinder 57, Dan Bulman 27no) beat *Wykeham A 125-6 (Ian Thompson 30, James Bryant 58) by 41 runs.


*Cayton A 70-4 (Paul Pennock 25, David Smith 4-11) beat Scalby B 69 all out (Tom Ward 5-16) by 6 wkts.

Ebberston B 149-3 (Eddie Craggs 69, Mike Horsley 39) beat *Cloughton B 79-9 (Eddie Craggs 3-29, Pete Webster 4-10) by 70 runs. (EBBERSTON B RELEGATED)

Scarborough 160-0 (Josh Mainprize 73no, Jon Read 78no) beat Filey 108 all out (Lewis Adams 31no) by 52 runs.

Ganton 162-5 (Ian Cousins 38, Richard Bannister 34, Ed Cooper 26no, Sean Pinder 5-30) beat *Forge Valley A 142-7 (James Allison 53, Tom Varey 34, Sean Pinder 25, John Bannister 3-26) by 20 runs. (GANTON CHAMPIONS)


*Muston beat Cloughton B - Cloughton B conceded.

*Ravenscar 85-5 beat Cayton B 84-5 (Paul Miller 30) by 5 wkts.

*Seamer B 105-4 (Gary Dixon 41) beat Wykeham B 102-7 (Harry Gunning 58, Connor Myerscough 3-20) by 6 wkts. (SEAMER B CHAMPIONS - WYKEHAM B LEAGUE RUNNERS-UP - BOTH PROMOTED)

*Staxton B drew with Forge Valley B - ground too wet for play.

Wykeham C 109-7 (George Shannon 25, Adam Brown 32, Mick Bull 3-8) beat *Valley Bar Nomads 105-6 by 4 runs.

No game: Snainton.