Leagues call for early AGMS + Award winners

Beckett League news
Beckett League news

Local cricket leagues are urging all clubs to have early AGMs and address whether they have sufficient numbers to carry on playing.

The Beckett, Derwent Valley and Evening Leagues are anxious not to have last minute drop outs which makes a mess of fixture lists.

At the Beckett League AGM it is expected that clubs will vote on 1.30pm starts across the whole season.

A vote will also be cast on restrictions for bowlers overs (probably 12 max) in Divsions B and C.

The committee are also seeking an improvement in over rates which have dropped below our ideal (17 per hour) across the majority of teams in the top two divisions.



Batting: T Brough (Forge Valley) - 792 runs

Bowling: A Spaven (Heslerton) - 54 wickets

Catches: D Meredith (KMS) - 12

Wk: A Rivis (KMS) - 13 dismissals

Div A

Batting: C Sanderson (Sherburn) - 530

Bowling: A Storey (Settrington) -34

Catches: P Hesp (Scalby) - 10

Wk: G Chadwick (Seamer) - 13

Div B

Batting: D Walker (Ryedale) - 723

Bowling: A Ibbotson (Ryedale) - 44

Catches: A Smith (Grindale) - 10

Wk: N Ibbotson (Ryedale) - 14

Div C

Batting: Stuart Ward (Ganton) - 684

Bowling: L Oliver (Staithes 2nds) - 39

Catches: P Stephenson (Thornton Dale) - 9

Wk: L White (Thornton Dale) - 17

Paul Cooper Memorial Trophy

Batting: K Howard (Scarborough 3rds) - 254

Bowling: Tom Holmes (Ebberston 2nds) - 25

John Lockey Memorial Trophy

A Spaven Heslerton - 54 wickets

Tubbs and Co - Spirit of Cricket Award

Premier Division: Staithes - 19.43 (out of 20)

Lullabies Nursery Shop and Townsend Harrison – Chartered Accounts

Spirit of Cricket Award

Division A: Brompton - 19.64

Marissa Most Improved Ground Award