Academy still going strong after 10 years

Lottie Ingham, left, and Damien Quinton, were the Junior and Primary Big Improvement Award-winners
Lottie Ingham, left, and Damien Quinton, were the Junior and Primary Big Improvement Award-winners
Share this article

The Scarborough Gymnastics Academy’s annual club awards took place at Scarborough Rugby Club and the evening was also combined with the 10th anniversary of the club.

Scarborough Gymnastics Academy celebrated its 10th anniversary in 2012, having been established by Evy and Nikii Walker in 2002.

SGA provides a training base for eight qualified coaches (Evy Walker, Nikii Walker, Kadie Walker, Hannah Bishop, Cathy Coates, Lauren Mainprize, Dawn Hood, Megan Richardson) and three up-and-coming coaches (Joanna Pattison,Lynda Wilson and Rebecca Lockwood), delivering professional gymnastics sessions to over 270 gymnasts per week.

SGA has gone from strength to strength over the years and has celebrated many amazing achievements including two British Championship titles and international achievements in the International Team gym cup.

The gymnasts, families and friends were entertained at the event with quizzes, raffles and a specially presented slide show of the clubs achievements over the past 10 years.

The awards are presented in a number of categories, for both the general gymnastics and competitive sections of the club.

Competitive results throughout the year are taken into consideration as well as commitment, enthusiasm and progress, when deciding upon the winners of the annual awards.

The winners were as follows:

Competitive Gymnast of the Year: Presented to gymnasts who have shown ongoing enthusiasm and commitment to gymnastics, as well as improving their skill level and achievement good all round results throughout 2012.

Primary – Emily Newbould

Junior/Senior Joanna Pattison

The Big Improvement Awards are presented to gymnasts who have worked really hard, shown commitment and greatly increased their skills in all areas of the disciplines in which they train.

General Gymnastics Under-fives – Holly Draper

General Gymnastics Under-sevens – Jacob Bland

General Gymnastics Under-nines – Jessica Nolton

General Gymnastics Primary – Alice Boorer

General Gymmastics Junior – Rebecca Dent

General Gymnastics Senior - Georgia Price

Competitive Gymnastics Big Improvement Primary Award – Damien Quinton

Competitive Gymnastics Big Improvement Junior Award – Lottie Ingham

Competitive Gymnastics Big Improvement Senior Award – Megan Coates

The Commitment award is presented to a gymnast who has shown an ongoing commitment and dedication to gymnastics throughout the year.

Primary Commitment Award : Jasmine Marshall

Junior Commitment Award: Joseph Fishburn

Senior Commitment Award : Amber Hood

The Progress Award is presented to gymnasts who have worked hard, made progress and shown big improvements throughout the year.

Under-sixes Progress Award : Ashleigh Witty

Under-sevens Progress Award: Katie Lancaster

Under-10s progress award : Max Teasdale

Under-12s Progress Award: Evie Barnes

Under-14s Progress Award: Ellis Miller

Senior Progress Award: Abigail Catherall

Dance and Conditioning are both very important aspects in gymnastics, and both the Dance Excellence Award and the Conditioning Award recognises gymnasts who excel, work hard and train with enthusiasm in these areas.

Junior Conditioning Award: Megan Buttery

Senior Conditioning Award: Caitlin Frith

Primary Dance Excellence Award: Abi Davison

Junior Dance Excellence Award: Ellis Miller

Best Newcomer (Joint Winners): Sophia Broadbent, Anya Broadbent

Star Awards: This category focuses upon six pieces of apparatus, being the vault, tumble and trampette

These award is presented to gymnasts who have shown significant improvements and skill development on the following pieces of apparatus.

Star on Trampette

Coral Rose (Junior)

Lucy Walton (Primary)

Star on Vault

Amber Wilson (Junior)

Tilly Grunwell (Primary)

Star on Tumble

Bethany Morley (Junior)

Hannah Lockwood (Primary

The Susan Richings Award: This award was kindly donated by Susan Richings.

This category focusses on an outstanding contribution to the club.

The 2012 winner was Dawn Hood for their recent achievement winning the British Championships.