Go-Ride stars shine in Dalby finale

The winners line up at Dalby after the Go-Ride event
The winners line up at Dalby after the Go-Ride event

Young mountain-bikers hit top form in the sixth round of the Richardson’s Cycle Club Go-Ride series at Dalby Forest.

Forty-eight enthusiastic children took part in the event, which was the last opportunity for riders to win points towards the championship.

Warm sunshine greeted the riders at Dalby, which is the most popular venue. At this fine circuit, there were plenty of cheering and clapping adults which created ideal conditions for children to experience mountain bike racing.

The riders were arranged in age groups, each category completing three races around a circuit, first two races in a clockwise direction, third race in an anti-clockwise direction around the circuit.

The arena was in Adderstone Field, with a single track on established trails among the trees.

Riders from Filey, Hunmanby and Scarborough competed against children who had travelled from Guisborough, York, Guiseley, and Hull.

Prizes for all races on the day in addition to Championship winners all presented with a yellow T-shirt and a trophy. The event sponsors were McDonalds Drive-Thru, British Cycling, and Paul Raper Joinery.

With 24 riders aged under eight years of age Bryden Simpson and his team of volunteers arranged a race for the under-sixes.

The small wheels on single speed bikes meant whirring legs and some fathers running behind to offer reassurance.

So many under-eights meant that it was only fair and safe to arrange two heats, this suited Miles Topham and Oscar Taylor, while local riders Millie Jarvis and Ozzy Stinger showed well too.

The under-10s races were all won by Joe Prole, Amber Hull from Guiseley achieved third place in race two and second place in race three.

Malton’s Guy Drabble dominated the under-12s group with regular rider Matthew Dingwall getting two second places and Rory Brickley taking a third place in the first race. Megan Simpson gained the third place in races two and three.

There were three wins in three races for Will Turley in the under-14s, chased all the way by local lads Cavan Walker and Bailey Thornton ahead of Jasper Wood and Alex Drabble.

Two riders pushed each other hard in the under-16s races, Andy Hume from Scalby and Marcus Archer riding for Richardson’s CC.


Under six years: 1 Olivia Hall, 2 Francis Taylor, 3 Tom Eblet.

Under eight years: 1 Oscar Taylor, 2 Ozzy Stringer, 3 William Butterworth.

Under-10s: 1 Joe Prole, 2 Harry Butterworth, 3 Amber Hull.

Under-12s: 1 Guy Drabble, 2 Matthew Dingwall, 3 Megan Simpson.

Under-14s: 1 Bailey Thornton, 2 Cavan Walker, 3 Will Turley.

Under-16s: 1 Marcus Archer, 2 Andrew Hume.