Askwith snaps up victory in season finale

Andy Askwith won the Paragon end of season time trial at Burton Fleming
Andy Askwith won the Paragon end of season time trial at Burton Fleming

It was a very tough windy day for the 33 solo riders and one tandem pairing who took part in the Scarborough Paragon Cycling Club end of season social 10-mile time-trial at Burton Fleming.

It was a cool NE wind, making it a headwind up Bartindale Road (start lane) and not an easy finish either, but thankfully the squally showers didn’t reach the riders for the duration of the event.

The resultant times reflected the conditions, with only half the field beating 30 minutes.

Eight different cycling clubs attended, including 11 from Cottingham Coureurs, nine from Scarborough Paragon, five from Richardsons CC, four from Bridlington CC, three from Malton Wheelers and one each from Yorkshire Coast Clarion, Yorkshire Velo and Darlington CC.

Bridlington’s Andy Askwith came out the overall winner with the best time of 24:52, followed by Malton’s Paul Hickman in 25:00 and Nigel Goscinski from Yorkshire Velo came third in 25:12.

There were three ladies and three juveniles, Dawn Blues from Bridlington riding her very first event and achieving a respectable time of 31:44.

The youngest of the juveniles, who was only 12 last month, Cavan Walker of Richardsons CC, also did very well to record 36:45 in his first time trial on the road.

There was one unfortunate rider who failed to finish due to a puncture.

Every rider received a small prize at the end while enjoying the refreshments at the village hall, ably managed by the Sixsmith family and kindly provded by Don Asquith. The club would like to thank all the members and friends who contributed.

Full results: Andy Askwith 24:52 (B), Paul Hickman 25:00 (M), Nigel Goscinski 25:12 (Yks Velo), Mel Blackford 25:44 (B), Matthew Enticknap 26:16 (M), Matt Fenton 27:16 (C), David Brearley 27:44 (C), Cameron Turner 27:48 (D), John Brearley 28:05 (C), Chris Goode 28:10 (Yks Coast), Mike Potter 28:30 (S), Richard Lambert 28:32 (C), Barrie Cappleman 29:06 (S), Simon Walker 29:32 (R), Derek Palmer 29:34 (C), Harry Brown 29:47 (S age 15), John Hopper 30:02 (C), Callum Norris 30:10 (R age 14), Neil Ridsdale 30:22 (B), Robert Grainger 30:54 (S), Dawn Blues 31:44 (B), Jimmy Morrison 31:51 (S), Glen Hull 32:07 (M), Graham Varley 32:16 (R), Mike Gomersall 32:55 (C), Keith Jamieson 33:07 (S), Brian Ward 34:09 (S), Ellis Thackray 34:26 (C), Katy Cawthorn 35:41 (R), Pete Dunn 35:53 (C), Cavan Walker 36:45 (R age 12), Rachel Langley & Andy Toes 37:04 (S) TANDEM, Jane Thackray 37:53 (C).

There is only one more time trial left in Paragon’s calendar, that being the Christmas 10m event at Brompton on Sunday December 16 at 11am.