Grainger and Potter sparkle for Paragon

Paragon Cycling Club reports
Paragon Cycling Club reports

Scarborough Paragon Cycling Club's Rob Grainger and Mike Potter were in action at the 25-mile V236/1 race near Thirsk.

In windy conditions, Grainger still rode well but just missed out on a sub-hour ride with 1 hour 6 seconds. Potter had a good ride also finishing with a time of 1:04:05.

The overall winners recorded amazing times, with the men's winner being Mark Thaxter in 50:48 and the women's Anna Turvey in 53:40.

Tuesday evening saw 19 riders turn out at Hackness for Paragon's Hilly 10-mile time-trial.

This takes riders through Raincliffe Woods to Scalby village, and up Hay Brow Hill returning to finish past Hackness village.

It was a cool, overcast but dry evening and once again many thanks to the usual timekeepers and marshals that came out to help.

The overall win was taken by Paragon member Nev Watson with a great time of 26:49 which put him just ahead of Paragon rider Matt Purnell and YHT/SRC rider Jamie Ward, who both finished joint second in 27:12.

Third place went to YHT/SRC rider Daryl Maffrey in 27:29. Unattached rider Chris Matson also did a great ride in his first event, recording 28:56.

The rest of the field were as follows: C Martin (YHT) 28:05, S Ward 28:07, R Corney 28:39, R Grainger 29:58, K Allen 30:26, L Scupham (Team Jadan) 30:27, R Stephenson 30:32, B Sixsmith (YHT) 30:40,M Potter 31:18, K Jones 31:43, Mags Purnell (female) 33:33, H Bayes 33:54 and J Morrison 34:21.

Paragon held the first of their popular 5x5 come and try it events at the Rugby Club on a very cool and windy Friday evening.

These five events are aimed at novice cyclists ,giving people young and old the chance to turn up on any machine and experience the five-mile route, starting in Burniston, to Scalby, Burniston and finishing in Scalby.

Friday saw a northerly wind, which made a very fast finish leg from Burniston to Scalby and a total of 16 riders braved the cool evening.

Incorporated in this series of events is a points competition for under-16s (12-15 years inclusive).

The rider with the most points after event five wins the David Wilson Memorial Trophy. It is based on your age, gender, type of bike ridden and personal bests achieved.

At each event there are gold/silver/bronze medals given to the top three on points.There were seven contenders on Friday, gold went to Harry Butterworth 14 points, silver went to Cavan Walker, 12 points, and bronze to George Brown, 12 points.

In the juvenile competition the results were as follows :

1.Cavan Walker 11:37, age 15 (AGE 15 COURSE RECORD)

2.Harry Butterworth 14:30, age 12

3.Kyle Richardson 16:09, age 15

4.George Brown 17:06, age 12

5.Rory Alexander 20:00 (MTB- mountain bike) age 13

6.Benny Ward 22:24 (MTB) age 13

7.Josh Logue 24:36 (MTB) age 12

The rest of the reults were;

Louise Scupham 12:41, Simon Walker 13:57, Jonathen Dyer 14:08, Hannah Bayes 14:43, Katy Cawthorn 15:20, James Brown 15:29, James Gleeson 17:06,Rob Lawty 18:26 (MTB), Abi Lawty 19:12.

The next 5x5 event is on Friday June 3.

Thursday saw four Paragon riders tackle Richardsons' 10-mile time trial at Snainton.

It was tough, in a strong northeasterly wind, but Matt Purnell won the event in a great time of 24:09, Chris Brown was third overall in 25:46, while Mags Purnell did well with a 28:39 and Mike Potter finished in 26:59.

On May 14 Steve Dodds was in action on arguably the fastest 10-mile course in the country, the v718, which runs on the A63 dual carriageway near Hull.

Once again it was cool with a northerly wind, which made it fast to the turn, but hard going back to the finish.

Dodds recorded a time of 21:06, with the event being won in an incredible time of 17:57 by Ryan Perry.

Sunday saw 19 riders turn up bright and early for a 8am start for Paragon's 25-mile time-trial.

The sun did make a bit of an appearance, but with no real wind, riders had to try all the way round the course.

The race was won by guest rider Bob Hewiit, one of three riders to get under the hour barrier.

Rider times were as follows;

1.Bob Hewitt (YHT)) 57:01

2.Steve Dodds 57:29

3.Stewart Pickard (vive le velo) 59:23

4.Martin Cockerill (Brid CC) 1:00:09

5.Kevin Allen 1:00:31 PB

6.Daryl Maffrey (YHT) 1:00:47

7.Pete Roebuck (YHT) 1:01:16

8.Nev Watson 1:02:08

9. Matt Purnell 1:02:33.

10. Rob Corney 1:03:00

11.Dave Leaming (YHT) 1:03:03

12.Jamie Ward (YHT) 1:03:27

13.Chris Brown 1:03:58

14. Simon Walters (Brid CC) 1:05:05

15.Ben Sixsmith (YHT) 1:08:05

16.Mike Potter 1:09:33

17 .Mags Purnell 1:11:50

18. Hannah Bayes 1:13:51

19. Jimmy Morrison 1:16:15.