Heslerton wrap up Evening League title with Seamer success

Heslerton (above) beat Seamer to wrap up the AndyHire Evening League title
Heslerton (above) beat Seamer to wrap up the AndyHire Evening League title

Heslerton wrapped up the AndyHire Evening League title after beating Seamer by 23 runs on Thursday evening.

Victors Heslerton posted 138-5, Gary Hall (45) and Stuart Pickard (34) their run scorers, before Kristian Wilkinson's 3-15 helped restrict Seamer to 115-9 despite 47 from Greg Chadwick and 28 from Harry Holden.

Both Scalby and Ganton were relegated from the top flight, despite Scalby's win against their fellow strugglers.

Joe Hills (51) and James Ledden (27no) helped Scalby post 121-3, before Ganton could only manage 97-4.

Elsewhere, Staxton beat Wykeham by 23 runs and Ebberston beat Filey by 54 runs.

Flixton are back in the top flight after they hammered Scalby B by 10 wickets to win the Division B title, with their opponents relegated in the process.

Norman Shabir's 3-4 helped restrict Scalby to 77-6 before Liam Lowery (50no) and Josh Till (25no) eased them to 78-0.

Cloughton secured promotion from Division A as runners-up after beating Scarborough by eight wickets.

Charlie Roberts hit 57 as Scarborough posted 136-6, but Richard Ward (47) and Ben Luntley (35) helped Cloughton to 137-2 and the victory.

Sherburn B v Cayton and Sherburn v Wykeham were both rained off.

Cayton B won the Division C title in anti-climatic circumstances as Muston conceded their game.

Craig Hill experienced mixed emotions as his Staxton B side hammered Forge Valley B by 84 runs.

Hill looked all set to make it to three figures until he fell agonisingly one run short on 99 as Staxton posted 142-9, before Valley B could only manage 65 all out.

Forge Valley (175-2) beat Ravenscar (75-4), Flixton B (86-4) beat Snainton (83-2) and Cloughton B (137-2) overcame Valley Bar Nomads (99-6), while Ebbertson B v Wykeham C was rained off.


DIVISION A (* Denotes Home Team)

Ebberston A 151-4 (Ben Lockey 27, Damian Readman 50 no) beat *Filey 97 all out (Jamie Gilbank 54, Frankie Beal 3-20) by 54 runs.

*Scalby A 121-3 (Joe Hills 51, James Ledden 27 no) beat Ganton 97-4 (Rob Gretton 48 no, Rob Middlewood 27 no) by 24 runs. (Both Scalby A and Ganton are relegated to Division B)

Heslerton 138-5 (Gary Hall 45, Stuart Pickard 34) beat *Seamer A 115-9 (Greg Chadwick 47, Harry Holden 28, Kristian Wilkinson 3-15) by 23 runs. (Heslerton are League Champions)

*Staxton A 135-2 (David Morris 27no, Linden Gray 45, Chris Dove 46) beat Wykeham A 112-7 (Jack Holt 40, David Morris 3-25) by 23 runs.


Seamer B 46-1 drew with *Cayton A - Rain stopped play after 7 overs.

*Cloughton A 137-2 (Richard Ward 47, Ben Luntley 35, Ricky Nock 28 no) beat Scarborough 136-6 (Charlie Roberts 57) by 8 wkts, (Cloughton A promoted to Division A as runners up)

*Flixton A 78-0 (Liam Lowery 50 no, Josh Till 25 no) beat Scalby B 77-6 (Freddie Schmuck 35, Norman Shabir 3-4) by 10 wkts. (Flixton A are Division B Champions and promoted - Scalby B relegated)

Sherburn 23-0 drew with *Wykeham B - Rain stopped play after 2.5 overs.


*Ebberston B drew with Wykeham C - no play due to rain.

Staxton B 149-2 (Craig Hill 99, Adrian Young 41 no) beat *Forge Valley B 65 all out by 84 runs.

Cayton B beat Muston - Muston conceded - unable to raise a side. (Cayton B are Division C Champions and promoted to Division B)

Forge Valley A 175-2 (Gary Gibson 35, Alex Glass 78 no, Steve Boyes 28 no) beat *Ravenscar 75-4 (Freddie Barker 31) by 100 runs.

Flixton B 86-4 (Steve Hill 29, Jake Hatton 24 no) beat *Snainton 83-2 (Michael Kipling 44, Ben Norman 26 no) by 6 wkts.

Cloughton B 141-9 (Sean Exley 29, D Gibb 35, Jacob Codling 30, Jim Hunter 4-35, Craig Best 3-16) beat *Valley Bar Nomads 99-6 by 42 runs.