Staxton seal Evening League title

editorial image

Staxton wrapped up their eighth AndyHire Evening League division A title in nine seasons on Thursday night when they edged out Ebberston by 24 runs in a decider.

This completed a double for Staxton after their victory in the Harburn Cup, and they can seal an impressive treble tonight if they can conquer Flixton in the final of the Hospital Cup at North Marine Road.

Staxton batted first against Ebberston and made a solid 183-5 with Rob Pinder (63) and Chris Dove (79) scoring the runs.

Ebberston were 105-0 in the reply as Matty Turnbull’s 66 and Eddie Craggs’ 36 took them on, but three-wicket spells from Elliott Cooper and Linden Gray limited them to 159-8.

Staxton will now play Scalby in a division A/division B champions presentation game at Staxton on Tuesday night with a 6.15pm start.

After the game Andre Meunier - owner of league sponsors AndyHire and league president - will present the trophies to the two clubs.

Forge Valley were relegated after their defeat against Wykeham.

Valley were bowled out for just 86 by spells of 3-15 from Steve Day and 3-21 from Matthew Vincent. Wykeham comfortably passing the mark with seven wickets remaining.

Cloughton, who were already relegated, managed their second win of the season when they beat Flixton by five wickets.

Heslerton made sure of third spot thanks to a win by seven wickets against Seamer, Anthony Stones and Michael Dawson both reaching the 60s for the victors.

Ebberston B (Pictured) went up as champions from division C after a 47-run success against Muston.

James Tadman’s 3-25 slowed Ebberston to an attainable 119-5, but Joe Dunnett’s 5-15 saw off Muston for just 72.

Scalby B followed Ebberston into division B due to their nine-wicket win against Seamer B.

Darrell Morley and James Deaves claimed three wickets each as Seamer stuttered to 87-7.

Tim Barton then top-scored with 34 as Scalby marched to promotion.

Division B champions Scalby lost their final game of the season, slipping to a five-wicket defeat at the hands of Filey.

The result made sure Filey retained their place in the division, though only by the skin of their teeth.

Filey Cayton and Flixton B all finished on 12 points, and Cayton were relegated due to them having the worst run-rate.

Scalby made 146-6 against Filey, Andy Bamfield and Adam Waugh both making scores in the 30s.

Jonny Gilbank’s 63 guided Filey home though with wickets in hand.

Flixton B survived the drop, despite losing by 32 runs against Scarborough.

Josh Mainprize made 66 as Scarborough tallied 166-7 and Liam Lowery’s 57 wasn’t enough to push Flixton past this target.

Sherburn gained promotion to the top flight thanks to their win against Ganton in a promotion shoot-out.

Phil Pickard’s 3-14 proved to be the key for Sherburn as Ganton slipped to 86-9.

Sherburn made sure of the step up when they passed this mark with five wickets in hand.


DIVISION A (*Denotes home team)

*Cloughton A 112 for 5 (R Davies 41) beat Flixton A 108 all out (W Hunter 34, T Waters 3-17) by 5 wkts

Wykeham A 87 for 3 (B Pashby 28) beat *Forge Valley A 86 all out (J Bradshaw 30, S Day 3-15, M Vincent 3-21) by 7 wkts

Heslerton 164 for 2 (A Stones 67, M Dawson 68no) beat *Seamer A 141 all out (M McNeil 55, P Kinghorn 3-42, T Benthall 4-22) by 23 runs

*Staxton A 183 for 5 (R Pinder 63, C Dove 79) beat Ebberston A 159 for 8 (M Turnbull 66, E Craggs 36, E Cooper 4-43, L Gray 3-28) by 24 runs


*Filey 150 for 5 (J Gilbank 63) beat Scalby A 146 for 6 (A Bamfield 37no, A Waugh 35, R Baldry 3-26) by 5 wkts

Scarborough 166 for 7 (J Mainprize 66) beat *Flixton B 134 for 6 (L Lowery 57) by 32 runs

*Sherburn 87 for 5 beat Ganton 86 for 9 (P Pickard 3-14) by 5 wkts


*Cayton B 155 for4 (S Rennison 27, J Brown 51) beat Wykeham C 103 for 1 (E Pashby 43, M Remmer 33) by 52 runs

*Ebberston B 119 for 5 (J Dunnett 27, C palmer 29no, J Tadman 3-25) beat Muston 72 all out (P Marr 34, J Dunnett 5-15) by 47 runs

*Scalby B 88 for 1 (T Barton 34, R Lambuschange 31no) beat Seamer B 87 for 7 (C Myerscough 27, G Dixon 26, D Morley 3-15, J Deaves 3-11) by 9 wkts

Staxton B 155 for 5 (D Blanchard 31, J Aldcroft 67no) beat *Snainton 88 all out (J Maw 29, B Norman 29no) by 67 runs

*Valley Bar Nomads 104 for 6 (R Stansfield 33no, C Lyon 3-14) beat Cloughton B 103 all out (C Lyon 34, P Chambers 43, T Hulme 3-27) by 4 wkts

*Wykeham B 156 for 8 (S Staveley 60, J Hoggarth 24, S Boyes 4-51) beat Forge Valley B 114 all out (S Boyes 27, B Storey 39no, L Eustace 3-37) by 42 runs